Truth about… Warning: It’s never my intention to ruin someone’s experience with food. If “we are what we eat” we should be aware of who we are and what we’re eating. This portion of the blog will provide more details on certain food to give you the opportunity to be conscious about what you’re consuming. If you want to continue to eat for taste without an understanding of what you’re consuming…stop reading now!
Ramen noodles are a staple for many people. Whether you’re trying to save money, are a college kid, don’t care for cooking, or just like the taste…it’s a pretty convenient food option. You can even find certain brands and flavors that are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.
If you’re health conscious at all, ramen noodles should be the last choice for a meal option. A 2014 study published in the Journal of Nutrition found that instant ramen may increase a person’s risk of increased cholesterol, cardiovascular disease, high blood pressure, diabetes and stroke.
But what’s in instant ramen, exactly, that makes it so bad? Its’ ingredients include preservatives found in antifreeze and biodiesel. It also contains ingredients that could cause side effects such as nausea, headache, flushing, sweating, and heart palpitations. One package of instant ramen (which is two servings, according to most brands) has around 1,875 milligrams of sodium. That’s significantly more than the recommended daily intake of no more than 1,500 milligrams per day.
Continue reading “Truth about…Ramen Noodles [Infographic]”
Truth about… Warning: It’s never my intention to ruin someone’s experience with food. If “we are what we eat” we should be aware of who we are and what we’re eating. This portion of the blog will focus on non-vegan food items that you may think twice about consuming. So if you want to be conscious about what you’re consuming, this is the portion of the blog you want to read. If you want to continue to eat for taste without an understanding of what you’re consuming…stop reading now!
I sat hanging out with my cousin, telling her about a delicious looking recipe I saw on TV that I wanted to try. It involved Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies (Vegan friendly!!!) and marshmallows! Sounds delicious, right? Well, my cousin kindly informed me that marshmallows were not vegan because they are made with gelatin. Someone told her gelatin was made from the collagen in pigs.
Well it turns out, she’s right! Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is not vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin,” but it is vegan. It is derived from a type of seaweed.
It’s typically used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in many foods and cosmetics. Gelatin can also be used for the clarification of juices and vinegar. Here are some foods that contain gelatin:
Continue reading “Truth About… Gelatin”